Tag Archives: Larsson

Stieg and Eva, Sam and Suzanne

Readers of this blog are well aware of the tragedy that has befallen Eva Gabrielsson, the life partner of Stieg Larsson, who has been denied any right to his literary or financial estate. Under Swedish inheritance law, common-law partners cannot … Continue reading

Posted in Eva Gabrielsson, Stieg Larsson, The Tattooed Girl | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

The Expo Files: A New Book of Nonfiction Journalism for Stieg Larsson Fans

A new book has been published in English in the UK called The Expo Files, which anthologizes some of the best of Stieg Larsson’s journalistic pieces for Expo, the Swedish political magazine that he wrote for and edited for the last … Continue reading

Posted in Other, Stieg Larsson | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Eva Gabrielsson Continues Her Quest

The irony is striking, even if unintended: Eva Gabrielsson will be giving an author’s talk over the Memorial Day weekend in Philadelphia. She is returning to our shores presumably to again promote her book, “There are Things I Want You … Continue reading

Posted in Eva Gabrielsson | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

A YA Novelist/Lawyer Imagines Stieg Larsson’s Consuming Passion for Writing his Millennium Trilogy

We enjoyed reading the recent blog post of Francisco Stork, a YA novelist who has also had a long career as an attorney. In it, Stork imagines how Larsson might have approached the self-motivation to write his novels, having never … Continue reading

Posted in Media, Stieg Larsson | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Fans of Stieg Larsson and Lisbeth Salander may want to get ready for The Hunger Games movie:

There is some crossover in the fan bases of author Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games (and the rest of her trilogy) and Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (and the rest of his trilogy)—but not much. That’s largely … Continue reading

Posted in Lisbeth Salander, Other, Stieg Larsson, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movie | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Fictional Mikael Blomkvist as Role Model for Journalists…According to the Columbia Journalism Review:

In a piece entitled “The Girl Who Loved Journalists,” Eric Alterman wrote about Stieg Larsson and his fiction characters’ impact on the debate over the future of journalism. Alterman is a distinguished professor of English and journalism at Brooklyn College and the … Continue reading

Posted in Lisbeth Salander, Media, Stieg Larsson, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movie | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Fans of Lisbeth Salander should not miss this one: The Tattooed Girl reviewed

We were pleased to see The Tattooed Girl reviewed by Särah Nour on her blog. Excerpts follow: Love it or hate it, Stieg Larsson’s Millennium series has a ubiquitous presence not only in pop culture but also in political theory, feminist theory and Swedish … Continue reading

Posted in The Tattooed Girl | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Bruises, Black Eyes and Rippled Muscles: Lisbeth Salander Gets Graphic

It’s official. As we previewed in a blogpost last October, DC Entertainment’s Vertigo imprint will publish a graphic version of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo this coming November. The Scottish “Tartan noir” novelist Denise Mara – another female crime writer Larsson is … Continue reading

Posted in Lisbeth Salander, Media, The Tattooed Girl | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

What should be done with the “fourth” novel?

Several hundred draft pages from the late Stieg Larsson’s “fourth” novel about Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist are known to exist in some form. Claims and issues about the rights to this material, the appropriateness of publishing it, and who … Continue reading

Posted in Eva Gabrielsson, Fourth book, Stieg Larsson, The Tattooed Girl | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Eva Gabrielsson says Larsson’s politics and feminism is being overlooked – even by Rooney Mara

Eva Gabrielsson, the longtime partner of Stieg Larsson, has made her displeasure over the use of Larsson’s legacy known almost constantly since his death, when Larsson’s brother and father were given control over his estate despite her life partnership with … Continue reading

Posted in Eva Gabrielsson, Lisbeth Salander, Media, Stieg Larsson, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movie | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments