Veteran gossip columnist Liz Smith is moved by Stieg and Eva’s love story

Liz Smith blogs on wowOwow, where she quotes from Stieg Larsson’s letter to Eva Gabrielsson and then comments:

“THIS IS the first time I have written to you knowing exactly what to say. I love you; I love you; I love you. I want you to know that. I want you to know I love you more than I have ever loved anyone else. I want you to remember me but not grieve for me. Don’t forget me, but go on living. Live your life. Pain will fade, even if that’s hard to imagine right now. Live in peace my dearest love, live, love, hate. And keep fighting … thank you for the beautiful times we had together. You made me very happy. Adieu.

“I kiss you goodbye, Eva. From Stieg with love.”

This is a portion of a letter written by the late Swedish author Stieg Larsson to his life partner, Eva Gabrielsson. She read it at his funeral. Stieg died in 2004 at the age of 50. But this was not written shortly before his sudden death, or 10 years ago, or 20. It was written to Eva in February of 1977, when Stieg was 22.

Eva discovered it in a box of his belongings. It was in an envelope marked: “To be opened only after my death.” Apparently, Stieg was sure Eva was — using that now cliched phrase — his “soul mate,” very early on!

I was so profoundly moved by this that I had to put aside my copy of Vanity Fair. (VF is running an excerpt from Eva’s coming book “There Are Things I Want You to Know About Stieg Larsson and Me.”)

The entire article is beautifully written, but Stieg’s love letter is heart-stopping.


This entry was posted in Media, Stieg Larsson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

